13 - 1061 - 5 months ago

Hello, I've been dating my gf for almost 2years now and it's been a long distance relationship for 6months. to break the distance we both plan she furthers her education in my region for 4years then we get married thereafter.
Suddenly she informed me bluntly she won't be schooling in my region,days after issues, she opens up she doesn't have the funds for that school.
I'm in my final year in college with a side hustle,she knows my account and she also knows about my plans for our future of which I'm working on.
I agreed to going to another school in her region (not really happy with it, more stress for another 4years) or working and schooling while I support her. but she kept sounding like I have failed to play a role by not agreeing to be a part of the weight of the school so we can be together.Saying I'm building a future without her.i love her,she loves me.i am & can handle other needs, be of support,but at this point not education. I feel pressured; please help. Thanks.

THOR - 23yo - level 12

Your reaction:

Reactions (13)

5 months ago

Long distance is hard. But one benefit is it gives you time to work on yourselves apart before living together. Maybe you’ve each gotta do what you’ve gotta do before you move together? My partner and I are facing this now and we’ve decided that if a different uni is better for me then we’ll do another 2 years long distance.

I know this isn’t the right choice for everyone, but you shouldn’t feel like you’re sacrificing everything for your relationship. Can you make it work while you’re apart? Can you find a compromise where you both sacrifice a little bit? Unfortunately, especially when you’re young, studying and starting your career, I think you have to each be able to put yourself first a bit. Wait until marriage and kids to make real big sacrifices - then you won’t have the freedom of choice.

Hope this helped in some way, sending love and support to you guys!

Alanna - level 37 -